412 Area Code Wood Block Relief Print

A little while ago, I printed the 717 Area Code relief print. A little birdie whispered to me to make a 412 relief print using the same technique.

When I thought about the color to use, Printeresting Black came to mind but didn’t have any until the Hamilton Wood Type Fundraiser; a great cause and an incredible color.

Gamblin Printeresting Black

Gamblin Printeresting Black

Then the art was re-worked and a new wood block etched.

The 412 Area Code wood block

The 412 Area Code wood block

In a previous post, I mentioned about just acquiring the Caligo Safe Wash inks and have had minimal time with them to experiment. I haven’t used Gamblin inks in the past and wasn’t sure what to expect outside of what I’ve read about them.

Printeresting Black rolled out

Printeresting Black rolled out

What a beautiful black! You really don’t get a good sense of the depth of this black until you see it in person.

With the Gamblin Printeresting Black, a little bit goes a long way. A 1 lb. can should last a while for me! It rolled out easily and quickly straight out of the can.

412 Area Code block inked up

412 Area Code block inked up

It also laid down easily and evenly over the wood block …

412 Area Code wood block relief prints

412 Area Code wood block relief prints

… and the prints pulled up without issue.

412 Area Code wood block relief print close up

412 Area Code wood block relief print close up

412 Area Code wood block print detail

412 Area Code wood block print detail

The ink in these photos is still wet which is why it looks like it has a sheen. Probably partially because I was using the camera on my phone. I’m assuming the sheen will go away once fully dry. It’s also opaque, very, very opaque.

These prints are not finished just yet. I’m going to finish them as I did the 717 wood block prints and there will (hopefully) be eight total in the edition. The two in these photos have been coffee stained prior to printing. I’m not completely satisfied with how the staining turned out and will experiment with the remaining six. Perhaps a combination of tea and coffee staining; we shall see. It will be interesting to see how the coffee affects the paper over time.

Thanks for reading.

About BruceBurkhartDesigns

Freelance pixel slingin', graphic design and some print making on the side.
This entry was posted in Gamblin Printeresting Black, ink, relief print, wood block. Bookmark the permalink.